Works in Progress

I haven’t abandoned crafting–really–but I haven’t had much in the way of finished projects to show off. So here’s a rundown of what I’m working on.

First, I’m still plugging away on the Shawl Collar Cardigan.

I'm bringing back the one-sleeved look.

 

I have one sleeve completely done, and I’ve actually started on the second sleeve since this picture was taken. And then I’ll just have the collar/button band. Sigh. I’ll admit, this was a bit ambitious for my first sweater, and I’m getting the teensiest bit tired of the project. I still love the Malabrigo yarn, but I’m itching to be done with this and onto new things. And I’m terrified of picking up stitches for the button band. My goal is to be done with the second sleeve and started with the button band before my last class on Monday.

Because I’ve been so wanting to start another project, I did actually start my February Lady sweater too.

 

Someday this will be a sweater.

 

I think I like the tops of top-down sweaters the best. It’s such easy knitting, great for while I’m riding the exercise bike, and it’s still small and portable to take to work for lunch breaks. Soon, though, I’ll be dividing for sleeves and onto the lace pattern (eeek!). I really need to force myself to finish the other sweater before I get to that. 🙂

And I have been sewing. Slowly. We had a bit of a snowstorm here, and classes were canceled for two days. Unfortunately, they were still work days, and I worked from home the first day and trudged into work for part of the second day. On the day I worked from home, I did have some extra time for sewing, since there was no commute, and I had my whole lunch hour at home. I could get used to that. So I started my Pendrell blouse.

 

I need a dress form for taking pictures.

 

So far, I love the blouse. As horribly slippery as the fabric is, it also feels wonderful, and it drapes beautifully. Sometime this weekend I will try to get the side panels on, do the bias strips for the sleeves and hem it. I think it would look fantastic with my black Beignet skirt (which went into my thinking when I bought this fabric).

Finally, I do intend to do the men’s shirt sewalong, but my husband was stranded in a different state during the blizzard (boo!), and I haven’t had a chance to measure him yet. In any case, I’m not planning to make a full muslin for the Negroni. The fabric I bought is cheap enough that it won’t be a big deal if I mess up, and if it all works out on the first try, well, yay.

Now I just want to get started on my Ceylon and my black skirt (which may or may not be a Beignet) and some other projects I have in mind. It sure would be nice to have unlimited time. f

One response to “Works in Progress

  1. You amaze me!!!

Leave a Reply

