Grandma’s afghan

I have a lot of memories of my grandmother knitting and crocheting, but mostly I have memories of her knitting basket that was always near her couch in their living room. And she would tell us about whatever she was making (and she was always making something).

Near the end of her life, Grandma crocheted a blanket for me that I absolutely treasure. I always struggle with whether I should use the blanket or put it away for safe keeping, but I think something like that should be used.

The last thing she ever worked on was knitting a sampler afghan from some earlier version of “60 Easy-To-Knit Pattern Stitches Combine to Create Sampler Afghans“.

I wonder how long this has been in print.

I remember her working on the afghan, and I remember her wondering if she would finish it. Sadly, after she moved to a nursing home she had a stroke from which she never recovered, and she wasn’t able to knit at the end of her life.

After Grandma died, we divided up her things, and everyone knew that we couldn’t part with the knitting stuff, but no one was a good enough knitter to feel we could take on the afghan, so it’s just been sitting at my parents’ house. When my parents came out for Thanksgiving they brought me a whole basket of knitting needles and some yarns, and this book and the completed squares. When I first looked at it, it seemed overwhelming, but as I’ve gotten more comfortable with knitting, I’ve re-evaluated. I think I’m fully capable of these stitches, and eventually I would like to make this afghan.

 

Right after I took this picture, a kitty settled in to make it his new bed. He was chased away.

 

 

Grandma, being Grandma, had already chosen which squares she wanted to make and how they should go together, and I have her notes. She had completed six of the twenty squares and was in the middle of the seventh, which I have, still on the needles. And she had extra yarn already purchased. It’s actually Red Heart Super Saver with supposedly no dye lot, so I can get more if I need to.

 

Still on the needles. Gauge matching should be, um, fun.

 

 

Now I just need to figure out what size needles I need to match her gauge, which could be a fairly difficult problem to solve since my stitches are super tight. Oh, and I need to find time to knit an afghan!

I predict more than a few tears while making this. I cry every time I make her banana bread because seeing her handwriting on the recipe card makes me miss her so much. But they will be good tears, since I’ll be carrying on her legacy.

4 responses to “Grandma’s afghan

  1. Have you considered keeping the seventh on the needles and framing it somehow? I think that would be special. Use the finished six and then continue on. Although, I do like the symbolism of half and half . Your Grandmothers was a special lady. She always made me smile and laugh whenever I had the pleasure of seeing her đŸ™‚

  2. I have a completed afghan that Lynn helped her complete. If you want to see how she put this one together, I can send you a picture.

Leave a Reply

