Committing to Gertie’s Latest Sew-Along

I’ve just decided to join Gertie’s newest sew-along, the Crepe dress from Colette Patterns!

Crepe Dress

Gorgeous!

I was a little jealous of everyone doing the Lady Grey, but it was way beyond my patience level, if not my ability, so I didn’t. This should be much more do-able. And my latest sewing misadventure (the dress whose fit I haven’t yet fixed) has convinced me that maybe I should learn how to make a muslin and work on fit (yeah, yeah).

So, I used the 20% off code from Sew, Mama, Sew (advertised on their Facebook feed, good through TONIGHT) to buy the pattern and my fabrics (except the silk organza). Gertie also has links for 20% off the pattern directly from Colette and various discounts on fabrics (check out her Crepe posts for details) if you miss the SMS one.

For my shell fabric, I got Luca from the Lorenza fabric collection from Alexander Henry in Aubergine.

 

$4.50 a yard!

 

It won’t be as drapey as Lawn or Voile, but that should be okay. Plus, it was much cheaper than those options. Sorry, though, I got the last bit of it. 🙂 And for my contrast tie, I went with black, since I didn’t want to try to match the pink or purple through the computer screen. I have some light blue lining I can use to underline. I’m hoping the dress will be sufficiently wintery. If I like the pattern, I may re-make in all black with the scoop neck because I’ve realized that I don’t have any nice plain black dresses.

The sew-along starts December 6, so there’s still time to join in!

2 responses to “Committing to Gertie’s Latest Sew-Along

  1. Yay! I’m so glad that you’re joining!

  2. Love your fabric choice!

Leave a Reply

