Pictures from the Star Trek Convention

My Star Trek uniform has had its debut! I went to the Star Trek Convention in Chicago this past Saturday with my husband, his sister, and two of our other friends. We had a blast hearing the actors speak, buying from the vendors, and talking to other Trekkies. And, of course, we passed out Treknobabble stickers.

Star Trek Dress

The full outfit!

At the last minute, I realized I needed a purse to carry around the convention, so I made a black purse to look like a tricorder case from the original series. I was pretty proud of it!

 

Couple

With my husband, the real Trekkie. πŸ™‚

In the end, I’m pretty happy with the dress. My husband’s shirt is store-bought, and I think my dress actually looks more like the “real thing” than his does. We met other people who’d made their own costumes, some of which were really elaborate, and I think if we go to another convention (as if we wouldn’t!), I’ll try to make the real pattern.

 

This dress was the whole reason I started sewing, and I’m so happy I did!

4 responses to “Pictures from the Star Trek Convention

  1. What an awesome finished product! Looks really great! What a proud moment! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. You look awesome! You did a fantastic job.

  3. Looks great! You did a fantastic job, and I like how you fitted the dress more snugly (looks more accurate). And I totally thought you had bought a tricorder case πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks all! It’s such a simple dress, but the contrast of the red and black. really helps make it look good. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

