October Progress Report

You may recall that I had a master Plan for October (aka, get as much done as possible before November and NaNoWriMo.

There were six things on my to-make list. With the month 2/3 of the way done, let’s see how I’m doing.

1. Star Trek Dress. DONE.
Based on Simplicity 3835
I added the iron-on patch last night, so it actually looks like a uniform now. I also took in a the side seams a bit. I couldn’t probably take them in further, but I want to be able to sit in it. šŸ™‚Ā  I’ll post pictures on Monday of the full get-up at the convention!

Looked like a red burlap sack. Is hopefully better now!

2. Gail dress. About 70% of the way done.
Gail from Burdastyle
I re-sewed the top of the bodice with a bigger seam, and I’m somewhat happier with the way the lace lays now, although it’s still a touch too big. I need to add the buttons and button loops and finish the lace (basically just pull out the rest of the toilet paper and trim down to the stitching. I may decided to re-do the hem, too, although hopefully I can just fix the few inches that flip out. I really need a serger to do a rolled hem…

Gail Dress

Original pic with the *very* loose bodice.

3. Madison dress. About 80% of the way done.
MadisonAF23 from Burdastyle
I really just need a hem on this. And there’s about a 1 centimeter hole along the side zipper line where the stitches didn’t quite catch the fabric. I *think* I can fix that without tearing out the zipper, but it may involve hand sewing. <Groan> The edges of the “sleeves” aren’t finished at all, but they’re also completely covered by the collar, so I may not bother with them. Frankly, I’m not entirely sure why there are sleeves. A full write-up of this dress, with pics, is coming soon.

 

Madison Dress

No pics of mine yet. Hopefully it looks something like this.

 

4. Bella pants. DONE.
Bella #6011 from Burdastyle
And I love them, even if they weren’t perfect. Darn you, Burdastyle reader(s), who rated them a three out of five. Actually, I didn’t really realize you could rate people’s individual takes on patterns when I posted mine, or I might not have. I know the pants are not sewn at a five level, but it’s difficult to see other people say that!Ā  šŸ™‚Ā  (I’m mostly kidding; I don’t expect to get rating of 5 out of 5 this early!)

 

Pants

Look how happy I am to be wearing pants! šŸ™‚

 

5. JJ blouse. Not started.
JJ #6009 from Burdastyle
I hope to cut fabric for this tonight. I have printed/taped/cut the pattern and washed the material, so I’m all ready for it. I’ve read the instructions and don’t totally understand them, so this could take a while.

 

JJ Blouse

No pic of mine yet since it doesn't exist. Will hopefully look like this!

 

6. Beignet skirt. DONE.
Beignet from Colette Patterns
Definitely my favorite and the project I am most proud of. A combination of a terrific pattern and great fabrics made this one a dream to sew.

 

Beignet

*Love* the Beignet!

So there you have it. I have one complete project to do and a couple to put finishing touches on, with ten days left. I think I planned for just about the perfect amount of sewing projects in October.

 

Although I don’t know how much sewing I’ll have time to do in November, I do have some post-October plans. I have my first two vintage patterns to sew, one from The Vintage Bag Lady on Etsy (Simplicity 7072, a dress) and one from the amazing and generous Petalrose (a suit). And I have fabric for both. I’m pretty excited about those! I also have denim for another pair of Bellas. Maybe I can sew these to a four rating. šŸ™‚ I also have some Slub Poly/Rayon Jersey Knit on its way to me for the 1 Piece Kimono Tee. We’ll see how that works without a serger. Finally, I found some gorgeous Micropoly Stretch Knit on sale at Fabric.com for under $2/yd, so that’s on its way too. I haven’t decided yet what to do with it.

I know December should be spent sewing gifts for other people, but I don’t know if I’m quite ready for that. It’s one thing for me to live with my mistakes; I don’t know if I can force them on other people. I’m thinking that for Christmas I may give everyone coupons redeemable for an item sewed by me and let them choose what they want. I can sew in January and February when I’m feeling more experienced, and they can get fun post-Christmas presents in the mail. Is that a cop-out?

2 responses to “October Progress Report

  1. Yes, sitting is a good thing!

    You have been very productive; I am jealous!

    • Thanks! It’s been “speed sewing” as I recently heard it called. Nothing you could sell, but probably as good as the Old Navy clothes I usually wear. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

