The Plan for October

I can’t believe it’s October! September flew by. And now I can no longer say that I’ve been sewing less than a month. πŸ™‚ I plan to sew a LOT in October. I will be participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November and will, in fact, be one of Chicago’s Municipal Liaisons (egads!), so it’s unlikely I’ll get to sew much at all in November. (I will be writing a novel about sewing, though…)

NaNoWriMo

One of the other very crazy things I do!

I am running rather low on notions and even on fabrics for the projects I want to do, so I drove (ICK!) to JoAnn Fabrics yesterday morning. That could be a whole post in itself, but suffice it to say I hate driving, and I find JoAnn to be totally overwhelming. In order to make the most of my trip, I decided to plan out my whole month of sewing. Plus, I’m a little hyper-organized like that. πŸ™‚

So, priority one is the Star Trek dress. The convention is in three weeks, and I don’t want to wait any longer in case I run into unexpected difficulties. I’ll be working on that Sunday. Since I’ve made the pattern before, it shouldn’t be too time-consuming, but it may take a second day at some point. I have all the materials, but my red fabric is really not the best.

Jadzia Daz

I'll have something that looks like this soon! (Hopefully)

Next week, I’m going to participate in a Frock by Friday, under the guidance of Kathleen at Grosgrain Fabulous. She’s leading everyone in the $4 Gail dress, from Burdastyle. I’m actually not that crazy about the dress, but I’m interested in learning about sewing with silk and lace, and how to do elastic waists, so I’m going to follow along. If you’re interested, she’s starting Monday. You can find the material suggestions here. My silkish material and lace look almost identical to this. I just didn’t find anything else I liked.

Gail Dress

I just don't see this as work-appropriate. We'll see. Photo from Burdastyle.

I loved the other option for Frock by Friday, the $5 Madison from Burdastyle. It’s looks so fantastically retro and actually work-appropriate. Kathleen says she’ll do this one for the November Frock by Friday, since it only lost by ONE VOTE. Unfortunately, with NaNoWriMo, I won’t be able to follow along in November. So I’m thinking about winging it on my own now. I won’t make it in satin, though. I wanted to find Mondo’s oversized purple houndstooth for the dress (and I did find some close matches), and I also couldn’t find black and white regular houndstooth (like the Penny Farthing used), so I went for a plain jewel tone, a bright teal, in cotton.

Madison Dress

So gorgeous. It's one of those dresses I'm almost afraid to try because it will be heart-breaking if it doesn't look this good. Photo from Burdastyle.

While I was spending money on Burda anyway, I picked up a pattern for PANTS, the $4 Bella! Pants always seem really difficult on Project Runway, but a lot of people on Burda have tried these, and they look really cute. I don’t really have high-waisted anything, so this will be interesting. I decided to go for a trouser, like pinkswizzlestick did, to good effect, instead of denim. As you may have noticed, I really prefer my projects to be work-appropriate, but also, the denim was more expensive. πŸ™‚

Bella pants

PANTS! Picture from Burdastyle.

I did manage to snag a free pattern on Burdastyle, too. I’m seeing a lot of taping in my future! The free pattern is the JJ Blouse. I think a button-down blouse sounds almost more intimidating than pants. I’ll most likely leave off the ruffle, at least on my first attempt, because it seems unnecessary. But if I can really make blouses I may not need Old Navy at all anymore!

JJ Blouse

How much do you want to bet I make this too big? PIcture from Burdastyle.

Finally, I do have one non-Burda/non-StarTrek thing to make: the Beignet skirt from Colette Patterns. I had been scared off by the price ($16! for one view!), but the reviews on Pattern Reviews are pretty positive, and Sewaholic’s version is so gorgeous! Supposedly, the directions are really easy to follow, but I did a quick read-through and was pretty confused. Maybe it will make more sense as I go through it? (I hope!) I actually had all of the materials I needed for this one, except brown thread. Sigh. Since I was in JoAnn anyway, I also bought buttons I liked better than the ones I had.

Beignet Skirt

I can't imagine wearing a white skirt, but it should be cute in another color! Picture from Colette Patterns.

So, what do you think? Is this an impossible agenda for October? Will I be tearing my hair out? Or will I be done by October 15? πŸ˜›

7 responses to “The Plan for October

  1. Wow, I do think that’s a lot for one month, but you’ve been knocking projects out pretty fast, so it seems like you should be able to get it all done πŸ™‚

    I LOVE that Madison dress. So cute. And the Gail doesn’t really seem work-appropriate, but maybe with a cardigan?

    • I’m going to try the Gail, and if it isn’t work-appropriate, I guess I’ll have to find somewhere fancy to go. πŸ™‚ I’m not going to make myself crazy trying to finish everything, but I wanted to have supplies ready for all so that I don’t sew too quickly and then not have anything to work on! Maybe I should re-name the blog “Speed Sewer.” πŸ˜›

  2. Wow, you’ll have to do a fashion show when you’re done with all of these! Sounds amazing, you can do.
    I totally winged the Madison when I made mine, and it actually was pretty easy, I thought. Same with the Beignet. (I just don’t talk about all the times I used my seam-ripper.)
    Good luck with everything!

    • I LOVE your Madison, so if that’s winging it, I’m in. πŸ™‚ Glad to hear that it and the Beignet are easy. I was scared of the lining in the Beignet, but I just lined my Star Trek dress and found it to be much easier than expected.

      Yes, my seam-ripper and I are becoming fast friends…

      Thanks!

  3. I better get back on the sewing wagon! This is a fantastic plan and I *know* you can get it all done! I should start planning out some new projects too!

  4. Pingback: October Progress Report | Kelly Learns to Sew

Leave a Reply

