Welcome to My Crazy Idea

I am a complete neophyte when it comes to sewing. Okay, I may have once sewn a button (badly), but I had never used a sewing machine until two days ago. And by used, I mean even plugged it in. My mom hated (and still hates) sewing and anything crafty, so she was never motivated to teach me (never mind that her maternal grandmother was a seamstress!!). I never took home-ec (or industrial arts, so I can’t hammer a nail either). In short, my heretofore experience of clothes is that they come from Old Navy, and if they rip, you use a safety pin to fix them.

Old Navy Shirt

I bought this exact shirt years ago, and it's still for sale at oldnavy.com!

So, why do I want to sew now? I think there are a few reasons.

  1. I like a good project, and I think I’m done distance running for good. In the past, training for marathons has used up some of my project energy, but my knees just can’t take that kind of pounding anymore. I will still be writing a novel in November (as part of NaNoWriMo), but that’s only one month of the year.
  2. I feel the need to create something. Although I really enjoy my job, it doesn’t satisfy this craving because I don’t make anything. There is no product at the end of the work day, just more paperwork pushed around.
  3. My husband is in grad school and is busy reading, writing, and teaching for much of the school year, so I need to distract myself.
  4. There may be some kind of nesting thing going on here as we start thinking more seriously about having kids.
  5. Finally, I want to be able to make this dress before the Chicago Star Trek Convention (on October 22-eek!):

Uhura in the hot Star Trek TOS mini-dress

Uhura rockin' the mini-dress.

I don’t expect to be able to make it perfectly, but I do want to make some kind of red mini-dress with black collar!

Stay tuned to see if I get horrible frustrated really quickly, or if I manage to stick to it and make my dress!

Leave a Reply

